love, unconditionally.

cf62e813b73de8756ac285ebbe006967

Do you ever have those days where you just don’t feel like loving people. Those days when the little things people do annoy you and you don’t really have a legitimate reason to dislike them, but you do anyways. I have those days too.

To be completely straight forward, that is not an attitude that comes from the Lord. We are supposed to be lovers of people, specifically with Christ-like love. It seems so simple, but really it is a outright act against our flesh. It takes someone who is completely set out on denying their flesh and succumbing to the beautiful work and actions of the Holy Spirit in and through their lives. Are you willing to be that Spirit-led and driven individual? I am. Yet, my flesh constantly battles against my Spirit. I find myself day in and day out, battling to look at people the way God looks at them – with eyes of grace, mercy, and love.

And because it’s a battle I find myself more and more at the foot of the cross in prayer asking my Savior to forgive me and to give me His eyes and His heart for people. I don’t want to always look at people with my mind full of wicked thoughts. I want to look at them as people Christ loves and died for, just like He did for me. I want to love my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ with so much heart that I would be willing to die for their sake. Furthermore, I want to love those who do not yet know Christ with so much passion that all I want to talk to them about is Jesus and the Beautiful Savior that He is.

But how do we obtain this heart full of love for people? Honestly, friend, it can only come with excessive prayer and communion with the Lord. You cannot do it in your own strength. You need to petition the Lord and ask Him to give you His heart. With that comes daily fellowship with Him in His Word. Whenever I open His Word and read it’s truths, I see God’s love poured out on His people every time. Even in the midst of judgment, I see His never ending and unfailing love.

Going through the book of Hosea has been amazing, as it shows such a wonderful picture of God’s love for His people despite their constant sinning. His love was not an excuse for them to keep sinning, but more of the reason they should have stopped, repented, and returned to the God of their salvation.

“Come, and let us return to the Lord; for He has torn, but He will heal us; He has stricken, but He will bind us up. After two days He will revive us; on the third day He will raise us up, that we may live in His sight. Let us know, let us pursue the knowledge of the Lord, His going forth is established as the morning…”

{Hosea 6:1-3}

I want God’s heart. I want to love people like He does – unconditionally.

2 thoughts on “love, unconditionally.”

Leave your thoughts

