let’s talk tuesday >>> 50 shades of grey

I am not going to see the movie. Just thought I’d make that clear from the beginning. I don’t even have to go to Focus on The Family’s plugged in website to decide. I just know, I don’t need to see it nor do I want to. Besides, why would I? What would be my purpose in seeing it? My purpose would be to satisfy my fleshly desires. Why would I consciously drive to the movie theater, buy my ticket, buy some popcorn, pick a seat, and watch the entire film? What is it going to profit me? Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

I read an eye-opening article yesterday written by a young, Christian woman. The title caught my eye; Why We Shouldn’t Need 1,000,000 Christian Articles on “50 Shades of Grey”Wait, what? Isn’t it good that Christians are concerned for their brothers and sisters in Christ? Shouldn’t we be warning our fellow believers of the immorality in watching this movie? Yes, it’s good and honorable to be concerned for other Christians, but in things so obvious like this new, award winning movie, all Christians across the globe shouldn’t need to even consider buying a ticket.

The author of this article expresses her concern, not for Christians who are going to see the movie, but for the worldwide Church body. What are we doing wrong that makes other Christians even consider entertaining such sin? Furthermore, think of all the other immoral entertainment that you can find all over the internet? Do Christians take part in that entertainment as well?

Why do Christians even need to be warned? All this proves to me is the spiritual health of the Church. If Christians are considering and then deciding on watching this movie, it strikes in me an important question, “What is going on in their hearts and minds?” Lastly, what should be our moral response to sin? Run. No, not towards it, away from it. Run like the wind, bullseye! Don’t act like the world acts. Don’t entertain what the world entertains. Don’t live like the world lives.

Romans 12:2 says, “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Don’t be conformed, be transformed. Be different than the world. John 15:19 says, “If you were of the world, the world would love its own.Yet because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.” To love God, means that the world will hate you. If you say you love God, but the world loves you, I would encourage you to pray, “Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me, and know my anxieties; and see if there is any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting” (Psalms 139:23-24).

If you are a Christian, “considering” buying a ticket to go see this movie, please think again. Step back and ask yourself, why? Will God be pleased? Will my decision to see the movie glorify Him? I can tell you right now. No, it will not glorify God. Jesus said in John 14:15, “If you love Me, keep my commandments.” So please, don’t see the movie.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. thewhyorwhynotgirl says:

    Reblogged this on thewhyorwhynotgirl and commented:
    My thoughts perfectly described in my best friend’s post.

  2. Sarah Soine says:

    You are the sweetest. ❤

  3. betsyshorma says:

    Wow! This is an amazing post, Sarah! Its very eye opening. This a good reminder that we need to be guarding our hearts. We need to clear our minds, give God control. Thank you, this has made my day! 🙂

    1. Sarah Soine says:

      Thanks!! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. 🙂 Do you have a blog now?

  4. betsyshorma says:

    You’re so welcome! No, I don’t. I have one “half-way” designed now but haven’t published it. Maybe some day I will be brave enough to publish it! 😉 but for now, I just enjoy reading other peoples blogs!

Leave your thoughts

