friendships like these.

Friends are a blessing. They really are. I could end my post there because that basically sums it up, but that would be way too short, so I’ll go on. 🙂 God has given me a few, super close friends who are a huge blessing and encouragement in my life. I often think, “I don’t deserve these great friends”, yet God still gives them to me. While I was in Austria, I made even more amazing friends! One of them was sweet Brooke. I only knew her for 4½ weeks, but I feel like I’ve known her for years. We share a lot of similarities, but we also have a handful of differences as well. It was so awesome to serve with this girl, talk with her, encourage her, have early morning bible studies with her, and basically spend time with her. I don’t think there was one day when we weren’t “doing” something together, except when we were both working. 🙂 She was a huge blessing to me. I’m so grateful for her.

C.S. Lewis once said, “Friendship is born at the moment when one man says to another: ‘What! You too? I thought that no one but myself….'”

I love this! I remember praying on the way to Austria for a friend; at least one friend. Well, it turns out that God gave me Brooke, among many others. Brooke was one of the first to introduce herself to me, and I immediately felt at home. She was an answer to my prayer! Then we started to realize how much we had in common. Just like C.S. Lewis said, “What! You too? I thought that no one but myself”; that’s exactly how I felt with Brooke. I believe that God has given us friendships for our enjoyment, comfort, and for our benefit. As humans, we need other humans around us in order to thrive. When someone is alone, without any friends, they have no one to turn to when they’re going through something hard. God has given us friends in the Body of Christ, and those relationships are to be comforting, sweet, and God-centered. Often, friends tend to gossip. But a godly, Christian friendship will not be full of gossip but of encouragement, accountability, and edification. I can happily say that ALL my friendships at the Castle were just like that. Brooke and I did NOT wake up at 5:30 in the morning to gossip or just talk about random things. We woke up to read God’s Word, encourage each other, be encouraged, and grow in Him together. And it really worked. Those times with Brooke were so sweet and I wish I could fly to England and do that again with her every morning!

The Body of Christ is a beautiful assembly of fellow Christians with the same desire, calling, life style, and belief in the same God. What more do we need? God designed the Body of Christ to be a place to grow, love, worship God, and edify. The Body of Christ is a family of believers all with the same Father in Heaven. How amazing is that? Throughout my time at the Castle, that’s how it felt. It was such a joy to serve with fellow believers ever single day. I miss the talks, the laughs, the prayers, the worship, and the trips with each person I met over the summer. They’re all so special to me and have all played a huge role in my life!

…but, speaking the truth in love, may grow up in all things into Him who is the head–Christ–from whom the whole body, joined and knit together by what every joint supplies, according to the effective working by which every part does its share, causes growth of the body for the edifying of itself in love. -Ephesians 4:15-16

happy blogging,

sarah

4 thoughts on “friendships like these.”

  1. I wish you could fly over here and wake up me early and discuss the Word together. Miss you too girl. Great Blog Post!!!! One of your best so far: (and I’m not just saying that because yoou talk about us.) I mean it. God breathed on this post.

Leave your thoughts

