inquire, listen, obey.

fog3

In my personal devotions, I’ve been going through the books 1 & 2 Samuel. It’s not part of any group study I’m in, it was just something I wanted to read and study in my quiet time with the Lord. Most people probably think that 1 & 2 Samuel is full of wars, conquests, David becoming king, and so forth, which it is. But who knew that there could be so much application! I believe that’s an important aspect to consider; every single book, verse, and chapter of the Bible has applicable life lessons. In this post, I would like to share one that has spoken to me while reading these books.

Throughout 1st and 2nd Samuel, the phrase “So David inquired of the Lord”, is most prominent. At first I didn’t catch the application part of the phrase. However, when I read 2 Samuel 5: 19-25, it hit me. Here’s it is:

So David inquired of the Lord, saying, “Shall I go up against the Philistines? Will You deliver them into my hand” And the Lord said to David, “Go up, for I will doubtless deliver the Philistines into your hand.” So David went to Baal Perazim, and David defeated them there; and he said, “The Lord has broken through my enemies before me, like a breakthrough of water.” Therefore he called the name of that place Baal Perazim. And they left their images there, and David and his men carried them away. Then the Philistines went up once again and deployed themselves in the Valley of Rephaim. Therefore David inquired of the Lord, and He said, “You shall not go up; circle around behind them, and come upon them in front of the mulberry trees. And it shall be, when you hear the sound of the marching in the tops of the mulberry trees, then you shall advance quickly. For them the Lord will go out before you to strike the camp of the Philistines.” And David did so, as the Lord commanded him; and he drove back the Philistines from Geba as far as Gezer.

Lately, I’ve been praying about my future. I honestly don’t know what God has for me in the next year. It’s both a scary and exciting feeling. When I read this passage, God spoke to me. I saw a clear pattern. David inquired of the Lord, the Lord told him what to do, and David obeyed God’s voice. This is something that seemed to apply to my life right now.

Seeking the Lord and inquiring of Him is something I need to do first. This is the starting point. Through prayer, reading His Word, and listening for His voice, we can find out God’s will for our lives. Now after the prayer and inquiry phase, the Lord told David what to do next. I love this. It truly shows who our God is. God directs our steps. The fact that the living God directs our steps, makes our relationship with Him so much more personal. When you don’t know where to go, simply rely on God to guide you in the direction that He sees fit. Thirdly, after prayer and God telling David what to do, David has a choice to make. He can either obey God or disobey Him. Thankfully, David chooses the right path and obeys the voice of God. Without this final step, we can easily miss out on the many blessings God has for us. You see, God has a perfect plan for your life. But if you don’t seek Him through prayer, listen to His voice, or obey Him, then you’re doing it wrong. We need to be willing for God to work in our life. We need His direction, so don’t brush it aside. God knows best, so let Him carry out His plan for your life.

We also see in the passage that David inquires once more of the Lord and this time God says no and commands David to do something else. David again obeys the Lord. What a man of God he was! Sometimes God’s answer to our inquiries will be no, and we need to be prepared for that answer, just as we would be prepared for a yes. We don’t know God’s plan for our lives, so we must be open and willing for any answer He may give us. Whether it’s a yes or a no, we still need to obey wholeheartedly and without grumbling, just like David. Again, like I said, God knows best!

This passage is pretty amazing. I love how applicable it is for us, and especially for me. After reading those few verses I was convicted. I’m doing all this worrying about my future and am very unsure of what my life will be like in the several months. But without prayer, inquiry, and open ears, I’m not going to get anywhere. Being a Christian is work; it’s an effort. So don’t, for one second, believe that the Christian life is about sitting around, waiting for God to do things in your life. The Christian life is about actively seeking the Lord through prayer and inquiry. The Christian life is about constantly listening to God’s voice for direction. And finally, the Christian life is about obeying God’s Word and His commandments and ultimately His voice when He tells you to do something. Then, and only then, can we find God’s will for our life. Whether it’s missions in a third world country, or starting a home bible study, seek the Lord in all things. Matthew 6:33 says, “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.” Our relationship with God is not a “let go, let God” relationship. It’s more like a “keep striving, and let God” relationship.

I hope you were encouraged by these verses! I definitely was! And be on the look out for my link love post for today! 🙂

happy blogging,

sarah.

Leave your thoughts

