#1 be loving.

Let’s discuss our first characterisbelovingtic of a godly woman. Love. This is probably the most popular word in our nation today. The simple phrase “I love you” or “I love ____” is used so much in our culture and probably without much thought or meaning. We often use the phrase “I love my Mom” interchangeably with “I love ice cream” or “I love music”. But do we really stop and think that love is not just a word to describe how much we like someone or something? Did you know that love is a verb? I wrote a post about this a few months ago. You can read my blog post “The Outworking of Lovehere. This really convicted me because it’s so true. I say that I love my family and friends, but do I show it? How can someone know they are loved if the person doesn’t show one ounce of love through their actions? They can’t. It’s that simple.

I chose this quality because I find (by my own observations) that it is something godly women should have. I know many women at my church whose love for others simply exudes out of them. Being a loving person is attractive. And by being loving, I mean lots of things. Not just by saying “I love you” to someone, but showing it by giving, being hospitable, caring, and encouraging. Acting out your love is so much more effective than telling it to someone.

Love is something women naturally have. Men do to, but probably one of the most used words in a woman’s dictionary is love. Love is what simply oozes out from women. They dedicate each day of their lives to teaching, cooking, cleaning, chaperoning, and many other things. But since we’re talking about how young women can grow up to be godly women, its going to look different than it will for a married woman. However, like I said before, its good to start now even before you get married. It’s easier to learn things beforehand than to try to figure it out when you need it most.

Jesus said in Matthew 22:39, “…You shall love your neighbor as yourself…” This goes for everyone. This verse is so simple to read, yet SO difficult to obey. No one can say that they don’t love themselves with complete honesty, because we all know that we do love ourselves above anything. Try thinking of one thing you love more than yourself….it’s hard isn’t it? And if you can think of something, its probably something that pleases YOU, which in essence, means you love yourself. :0) As sinful beings, we are full of ourselves and always have our best interest in mind. So as young women, who will most likely grow up to get married and start a family, being a loving person is not an option, its a necessity. Your part as a future wife and mother is to have love. And by doing so, you are glorifying your Father in Heaven.

But why love? Why is love so important? Can’t it be something else? Proverbs 10:12 says, “Hatred stirs up strife, but love covers all sins”. Hatred is no good. Who wants constant trouble and strife in their home? No one. The solution is love. This verse in Proverbs says that love covers ALL sins. Wow! You see, love is powerful. I look at it this way. God is love, therefore He sent His Son, Jesus, to die on the cross for our sins. Jesus took the punishment (that should have been ours) and wiped away the sins of the world. Therefore, Jesus’ love not only covered our sin, it took it away. Love is truly powerful. Love is the basis for everything we do. You don’t do something for someone just because and for no reason, you do it because you have love for that person or at least like that person enough to sacrifice your time and energy for their sake. Jesus didn’t die on the cross for you just because God told Him to; no, He did it willingly! So what better reason then to follow Jesus’ example and do everything in love and do it with a willing heart.

This isn’t just for young women. It goes for everyone! However, since this series focuses on how to be a godly young woman and more specifically on being a loving person, I believe it is very much necessary in the life of a lady. Ladies, God designed us to be the caretakers, homemakers, mothers, wives, chefs, and housekeepers of this world. That is out primary purpose in life. And what a wonderful purpose it is! How can we be all those things without love? We can’t. Love is behind all of those jobs. How can you be a mother if you don’t love your children. How can you clean a house, if you don’t love your family? How can you cook a fine meal, if you don’t love the people who are eating it? Love is necessary. Young ladies, we need to practice this for when God calls us to take on these responsibilities. Without love in our hearts, how can we be effective lovers of our future husband and family? Practice this now in your homes, towards your friends, family, and siblings. John 13:34 says, “A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another.” Listen to my Dad’s sermon on Loving One Another for further insight!

Here’s to our first (of 10) “How to be a Godly Woman” topic, be loving. I hope this first post inspired you to love more, love better, and love actively. For you younger women who are not yet married, practice now! I’m speaking to myself, as well. :0) And please, share your experiences by commenting below. I would LOVE to hear your thoughts. :0)

Please bear with me, as life is still busy even though school is done! But I will try to remain faithful to posting once a week. Stay tuned for my next post on being content!!

Happy blogging,

Post Signature #1

Leave your thoughts

