i’m finally done!

Thursday night marked one of the best days of my life! I successfully finished high school. Woohoo, class of 2014! :0) God has blessed me tremendously and by His grace, I have completed my high school education in just 3 years. It’s been difficult at times, but oh so rewarding. I’m very excited to see what the Lord has for me in the next chapter of my life! By God’s strength, I have received all A’s except for a couple B’s. I’m not boasting in myself but in God and the talents and abilities He has created me with.

“…do not boast against the branches. But if you do boast, remember that you do not support the root, but the root supports you.” (Romans 11:18)

I love this verse because it reminds me that God is the root and I am the branch. A branch cannot grow without the root. From the root comes the water to feed the branch. The root stands firm in the ground giving the branch a place to rest on. Therefore, since I am the branch and God is my root, when I boast, I need to remember that I do not support the root, but the root supports me. In other words, I do not watch over God, but He watches over me. So when I (the branch) accomplish things in life, or when I bloom and show the world, I need to give credit to God (the root), the Source of my success.

“Therefore I have reason to glory in Christ Jesus in the things which pertain to God. For I will not dare to speak of any of those things which Christ has not accomplished through me, in word and deed…” (Romans 15:17-18)

This verse tells me that I have the freedom to speak of what Christ has accomplished in me. It would be a waste of time to speak of the things He has not done in me yet. Boasting is permitted only if it is done to glorify God and to lift Him up. As John the Baptist said, “He must increase, but I must decrease” (John 3:30). Therefore, it is not wrong to say that I have successfully completed high school! As long as a give all the glory to God, because truly, whatever good thing that is accomplished in my life, is God’s doing. So…..Praise the Lord, Hallelujah! :0)

These past few days have got me thinking. I didn’t graduate because I did good, I’m graduating because God gave me the talents, abilities, and strength to persevere and to do well. He picked me and used me to be successful in different areas. So instead of saying, “Yeah, I did pretty good. God was there, but I did most of it”, I need to say, “I didn’t do it God did, in fact He did it all and used me to carry out His will in my life”. I’m the branch, but God is the root Who is constantly working behind the scenes. He is using me and has chosen me to carry out His will for my life. No, I’m not a robot because I still have the ability to make wrong choices, but God is still directing me in the way that He chooses.

You may have not even understood the “branch and root” analogy, but I found it really neat to think about. God’s the root from Which all things live. I’m the branch from which God’s light is shone. Now that I am an official high school graduate, this analogy seemed appropriate. As I move onto this next chapter of life, and as I continue to grow and thrive in Him, my goal is to blossom as a branch. As I blossom, my hope is that others will notices just as anyone notices a healthy plant. I want to stay rooted to God so that I will never waver from Him. As long as I stay rooted in God, I will thrive. My root needs to be God and none other. If I was rooted in something else, I wouldn’t prosper. When I say “prosper” I’m meaning spiritually, not materially or physically. I could root myself in my own desires and I may receive wealth and fame, but what good is that towards the Kingdom of God? What use will I have with earthly items in Heaven? Besides, prospering spiritually is more important because it determines where you will spend eternity. To read more about my thoughts on salvation and becoming a Christian read this post.

I hope this post taught you something. Remember, everything good in your life comes from God. He is to be thanked for everything you have.

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning” (James 1:17).

Below is a picture of my dear friend, Olivia and I just before I walked out! I’ll post more pictures later as I download them off of the camera. :0) Have a wonderful weekend!

meandmydearfriendolivia

Happy blogging,

Post Signature #1

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave your thoughts

