A Checkpoint in My Life

Image

2014 is going quite well so far. Just last night, my parents and I decided, after seeking the Lord a bit, that I will graduate a year early! I will graduate in May with the class of 2014. This is very sudden, yet very exciting.

I will have quite a load this semester, but I know I can do it with the Lord’s strength. Here are all my classes…English and U.S History at my local JC, Economics, American Government, Home Economics, French, PE, and Leadership. Right now I am preparing myself mentally for a whirlwind of busyness, work, stress, and late nights. But, I am reminded of God’s ultimate power to get me through ALL of it.

So, during what would have been my senior year of high school, I will be doing a few things. First of all, I won’t be going straight to college. I will most likely be setting up a little babysitting business between my church family and friends, saving up money, possibly taking one or two JC courses, and praying about a future missions trip. My “would have been senior year” will be full of saving money and seeking the Lord.

As Christians, we need to remember that our life is not in our hands. The world will try to tell you that you can “do whatever you want with your life, it’s your life don’t let anyone tell you how to live it”. Well, that’s not the right attitude. The point is, God made you. He is the God of the Universe. He only has the power to change your life, and He can even take your life away from you if He wanted to. That’s how powerful God is. So, for me, as a Christian and a follower and believer of Jesus Christ, I want His ultimate will in my life. Honestly, I wouldn’t want it any other way. I don’t want my fleshly and sinful plans to guide my life. Now, I’m not saying I don’t dream. My dream is to go to a traditional, private Christian 4-year college, find my husband there, marry him after college, have at least 4 kids, be a homemaker, wife, mother, grandmother, etc. That’s my plan, but is it God’s?

I encourage each and everyone of you to submit your entire life to God. His plan is the best, whether you think so or not. Your dreams and plans may give you pleasure for a while, but God’s plans will benefit you for eternity.

Blessings, Sarah

Leave your thoughts

