Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014!!

Happy New Year to all my fellow bloggers and friends!! This has been a good but interesting year for me and my family. There have been big changes as well as health issues, but we have had some very fun moments to!

We started the year by going to Minnesota to visit family. Burrrrrrrr! Yes it only got down to about -15, but we survived. πŸ™‚ The whole spring was busy with school; I was a sophomore and my brother was in 8th grade. The summer was relaxing with trips to a friend’s cabin in the mountains, kayaking on beautiful lakes, and sleeping. I also became an assistant teacher for the K-2nd grade girls in my churches Children’s Ministry! Our church also has grown tremendously in the past 6 months. What a blessing!

When August came, it was time to say goodbye to my dear friend Olivia, who was headed for college, and it was also time to start a new school year. I took on some junior college courses for my first time, and was also able to help my brother begin his Freshman year of high school! September brought my 16th birthday, as well as health issues for my Mom. October brought brain surgery to remove my Mom’s tumor, which we called “Madame Blueberry” for those of you who have watched Veggie Tales. πŸ™‚ It was very large, 4cm by 4cm approximately, therefore it’s name fit well. πŸ™‚

November brought healing for my Mom, more school, and studying for finals! Thanksgiving came and went very quickly, but spending it with our best friends was so much fun. December has probably been my favorite month of the entire year. Despite the cold (I really don’t like it), December has been a relaxing yet busy month. I finished school officially on the 20th, I took the SAT earlier in the month, I spent Christmas with dear friends and my family, we saw the new Hobbit movie, I had a fun sleepover with my wonderful friends last night, and have just been enjoying my vacation! Sleeping in has also been a part of my Christmas break. πŸ™‚

Now, I know it sounds like rambling, but as I look over what I just wrote, I am reminded of something. My life has changed over the past year. And thankfully I can say it has changed for the better. I have grown in the Lord, in fact as Christians, we are always growing in our relationship with the Lord. We have had fun times and hard times. The point is we have all changed. Whether it’s moving to a new place, or simply being a year older, we have changed. But guess what!?

GOD HAS NEVER AND WILL NEVER CHANGE.

We change, but God doesn’t. I find it amazing that my God never changes. His Word will never change. What He says will happen, will happen in His timing. His promises will never change either.

When life keeps going, which it will, and your life changes, whether dramatically or minimally, God still does not change. He is steadfast, as is His love for you. Although life may disappoint, relationships give through, or loved ones pass away, God is always there. He won’t change, even when people do.

In short, I hope your New Year is wonderful! May it be refreshed, and may it give glory to our God, the Creator and Savior of the Universe.

Blessings, Sarah

“For I am the LORD, I do not change…” ~Malachai 3:6a

Leave your thoughts

