Keep, Treasure, Bind, and Write

Image

In my daily devotions, I am slowly going through the book of Proverbs in the Bible. This morning, I began chapter 7 and a couple verses struck me as powerful. (Proverbs 7:1-3)

“My son, keep my words, and treasure my commands within you. Keep my commands and live, and my law as the apple of your eye. Bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart.”

This is God speaking to you; “Keep my words, and treasure my commands…” It is our goal, as Christians living on earth, to keep and treasure God’s commands to ultimately glorify Him. To tell the truth, we ALL fall short of this goal. Do we always really treasure God’s commands? Think of the word “treasure”. To treasure means to greatly value. We are not asked to throw away God’s commands and to think that they are irrevelant to our life. In fact, it is quite the contrary. We are to treasure His commands within us.

The next section says to “keep my commands and live, and my law as the apple of your eye.” Second, we are to keep His commands and live. If you were to flip that around to say, “disobey My commands and die”, that would be fairly accurate. To disobey God is to sin against Him, and the punishment for sin is death. Thankfully, since we fall short so often, Jesus payed that price of death on the cross so that we simply have to repent of our sins and turn to God. The second part of this phrase says “my law as the apple of your eye.” That phrase basically means to cherish something or someone above all else. God wants us to cherish His law. Cherish it, don’t put it to the side to read later. No, put God and His law first in your life. He want’s your whole heart, not some of it.

Next, bind God’s law on your fingers; write His law on your heart. To me, this exemplifies how cemented God’s law should be in your life. To bind it on your fingers, shows to me the tightness of it in your life. Also, why would God use fingers as an example. Well, I think it might be showing that your fingers are part of your hands, and your hands enable you to do everything that you do, including sin. If we bind God’s law on our hands so tightly, it is more likely that we will restrain from sinning. The next part talks about writing God’s law on your heart. Now, this is a big one. To write something, is to set it in stone. It is a declaration, a statement, and basically showing who you are. By me writing this blog post, I am declaring my opinions based off of the Bible. So, write God’s law on your heart. Why your heart? Well, because the reasons why you do what you do, whether action, thought, or speech, originates from your heart. So, if you write God’s law on your heart (this is figuratively speaking), your thoughts, actions, and speech will more or less be glorifying God. Writing God’s law on your heart may mean memorization of Scripture, studying Scripture verse by verse, and/or reading through the Bible several times. So, bind the Law on your fingers, and write the Law on your heart. The outcome will be beautiful.

We will all fall short of this. I too, have and will fall short of this. It can be very hard to give up one thing to dedicate your mind and heart to God’s Word. But it is necessary to continue growing in your relationship with Jesus. I encourage you to spend time in the Bible. Study it, read it, and apply it. Bind and Write the Law in your life. Treasure it, and keep God’s law as the apple of your eye.

Leave your thoughts

