To Trust or Not to Trust?

ImageThis past Saturday, I took the SAT for the first time. I was very nervous on Friday and the day of the test. I barely ate breakfast and so I forced eggs down knowing that if I didn’t eat my brain wouldn’t work to its fullest. 🙂 Some of you may know or remember it being a pretty long test, complete with an essay, and many Math and English questions. Even though it is commonly known as a difficult test, I really felt the strength of God working through me in every question. And the knowledge that my family and friends were praying for me was a real encouragement.

The morning of the test I woke up at 6ish, washed my face, put makeup on, got dressed (into something warm), and read my Bible. Because we had to leave soon, I decided to just read a psalm, and since it was December 7th, I chose Psalm 7. You would not believe what the first sentence was. This is totally God, reading my heart and mind at this perfect moment. “O Lord my God, in You I put my trust.” WOW! I read that and just knew that the test and the outcome was completely in the Lord’s hands, and I didn’t want it to be anywhere else.

When we are run down, stressed, worrying, or simply nervous for the outcome of something, even if its small, God understands and wants only our trust. Therefore, we just need to trust in Him with our whole hearts and minds. Proverbs 3:5-6 says this, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths.” We are to NOT trust our own understanding. Even though I may think I know a lot, God knows a whole lot more! And since He knows everything, it is logical for my trust to be in Him and Him alone.

Now, that first sentence of Psalm 7, in context is David calling out to the Lord to deliver him from his enemies. This part did not necessarily apply to me, however, the first sentence really struck me as encouragement straight from God at just the perfect moment.

Trust, can be hard, especially when we think we know the outcome. But God wants us to trust in Him for all things, no matter what we think will happen. God know everything; the past, present, and future. He knows our every thoughts; past, present, future. He also knows our every action; past, present, future. HE KNOWS IT ALL. Not many people can say that their god (note the little g), knows all things. But guess what!? We can! Our God does know all and so it is an encouragement and a comfort to know that our lives are totally in His hands. Amazing!

As you go about your life this week, make sure to trust in God wholly and with your whole heart. He has the best in mind for you, so don’t refuse Him. Trust in him and “He shall direct your paths.”

Leave your thoughts

